clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Announcing the 2012 Eater Awards for DC

Missy Frederick is the Cities Director for Eater.

It is time now—drumroll, trumpets, etc.—to announce the winners of the 2012 Eater Awards. In over a dozen categories in 19 cities, the winners comprise a diverse group of the finest and most interesting chefs, operators, and characters in the country. We applaud them. You are hereby instructed to applaud them. So, without further ado—actually, a few quick pre-ambling thoughts....

To recap, Eater's local editors in 19 cities nominated candidates for five major local categories: Restaurant of the Year, So Hot Right Now Restaurant, Chef of the Year, Bartender of the Year, and Stone Cold Stunner. Eater readers then voted to narrow the field to a final three in each category. From that final three, the Eater editorial team chose the winner. Our Eater National brain trust then got together to decide the national winners for those categories. In addition to these main stage winners, said Eater editorial team has named worthy winners in more specialized categories, for myriad notable achievements.

Nominees and winners alike will be feted at a party tonight in Manhattan. Those winners that couldn't make it should watch their mail for packages containing cans of Italian peeled tomatoes. And now, without further ado, the winners in DC.

Click through for the full rundown of winners across the country on Eater National.

Eater Awards 2012

Restaurant of the Year
Nominees: Bourbon Steak, Toki Underground, Rasika West End, Little Serow, Fiola
Finalists: Bourbon Steak, Toki Underground, Little Serow
Winner: Toki Underground

Chef of the Year:
Nominees: Enzo Fargione, Vikram Sunderam, Johnny Monis, Cedric Maupillier, Haidar Karoum
Finalists: Johnny Monis, Cedric Maupillier, Haidar Karoum
Winner: Johnny Monis

So Hot Right Now
Nominees: Little Serow, Tacos El Chilango, Izakaya Seki, El Chucho, Mintwood Place
Finalists: Little Serow, Izakaya Seki, Mintwood Place
Winner: Mintwood Place

Bartender of the Year
Nominees: J.P. Fetherston, Gina Chersevani, Patrick Owens, Jack Caminos, Todd Thrasher
Finalists: J.P. Fetherston, Patrick Owens, Todd Thrasher
Winner: Todd Thrasher

Stone Cold Stunner
Nominees: 2941 Restaurant, Boundary Road, Jaleo Penn Quarter, Rasika West End, Estadio
Finalists: Boundary Road, Jaleo Penn Quarter, 2941 Restaurant
Winner: Jaleo Penn Quarter

Empire Builder of the Year
Winner: Sweetgreen


480 7th Street Northwest, , DC 20004 (202) 628-7949 Visit Website

Mintwood Place

1813 Columbia Road Northwest, , DC 20009 (202) 234-6732 Visit Website

Toki Underground

2731 Greenmount Avenue, , MD 21218 (443) 449-5392 Visit Website