clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Here Are the 2020 Rammy Awards Winners

The local ceremony went virtual during the COVID-19 pandemic and included a win for a restaurant that has permanently closed

Anju chef Angel Barreto
Angel Barreto won the Rammy for Rising Culinary Star for his work at Korean gastropub Anju
Rey Lopez/Eater D.C.

The Restaurant Association Metropolitan Washington conducted its annual awards ceremony Sunday night, turning the annual gala at Walter E. Washington Convention Center into a mostly virtual affair. Broadcast online right before a similarly odd Primetime Emmy Awards, the live stream of the Rammys included speeches and interviews from hosts wearing masks, a handful of pre-taped acceptance speeches, and a major award for a restaurant that has already permanently closed during the COVID-19 pandemic.

In late March, just weeks into the public health crisis, RAMW announced it would delay announcing finalists for its awards by at least a month. In May, the organization committed to holding a ceremony for the event’s 38th year, later revealing a plan to limit attendance with an “intimate” reception for finalists and sponsors.

Poca Madre, chef Victor Albisu’s modern Mexican restaurant in Penn Quarter that recently announced it had permanently closed, took home the award for Upscale Casual Restaurant of the Year. Here’s the whole list of the winners, which are all members of RAMW and are decided by an anonymous panel of media and industry experts unless otherwise designated:

New Restaurant of the Year: Cane

Chef of the Year: David Deshaies, Unconventional Diner

Rising Culinary Star of the Year: Angel Barreto, Anju

Pastry Chef of the Year: Paola Velez, Kith/Kin [now Maydan and Compass Rose]

Restaurateur of the Year: Yama Jewayni, Katsuya Fukushima, Daisuke Utagawa, Daikaya Group

Formal Fine Dining Restaurant of the Year: Three Blacksmiths

Upscale Casual Restaurant of the Year: Poca Madre [permanently closed]

Casual Restaurant of the Year: CHIKO - Capitol Hill

*Upscale Brunch of the Year: Trummer’s

*Casual Brunch of the Year: All-Purpose - Shaw

*Favorite Gathering Place of the Year: The Salt Line

*Favorite Fast Bites of the Year: Shouk

Service Program of the Year: St. Anselm

Beer Program of the Year: Roofers Union

Cocktail Program of the Year: Royal

Wine Program of the Year: Field & Main

Employee of the Year: Yasmin Orozco, Taco Bamba Taqueria – Springfield

Manager of the Year: Jamal Flowers, Rocklands Barbeque and Grilling Co. – Alexandria

Regional Food and Beverage Producer of the Year: Atlas Brew Works

**Joan Hisaoka Allied Member of the Year: Coastal Sunbelt Produce

**Duke Zeibert Capital Achievement Award: Randy Norton, Great American Restaurants

2020 Honorary Milestone RAMMY Award: Rocklands Barbeque and Grilling Co.; Vace Italian Delicatessen; Mrs. K’s Toll House

*Denotes awards decided by public vote

**Denotes awards decided by RAMW executive committee