For many who have gluten sensitivity, celiac disease or wheat allergies, one of the things they miss the most is pizza. Fortunately many more restaurants are accommodating those who cannot eat foods with gluten in them.
The pizza crusts include a variety of non-wheat grains and thickeners to try and recreate the satisfying chewy and crispy textures of standard pizzas. Many restaurants order their dough from an outside suppliers like Still Riding Pizza, rather than making them in the restaurant where cross contamination with wheat can be an issue.
For those who are most sensitive to wheat products or gluten, it may still be worth consulting with a server regarding potential cross contamination and gluten-containing toppings. Many restaurants now use special pans, different prep areas and/or different ovens to help people with wheat allergies, but some of the foods may still be in close proximity to wheat products.